3 remaining corridors of Delhi Metro phase 4 to be completed by 2025

New Delhi, India (Metro Rail Today): The Project Investment Board (PIB) has approved the remaining three corridors of Delhi Metro Phase 4 projects measuring over 40 KMs. The total cost of these lines is estimated to be Rs 12,600 crores. These lines include Rithala-Bawana-Narela (22.91 KMs), Lajpat Nagar­ Saket G-Block (8.38 KMs) and interlock-Indraprastha (12.37 KMs).

DMRC officials said, The board under the Ministry of Finance approved the remaining three lines – Rithala-Bawana-Narela (22.92 KMs), Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block (8.37 KMs) and Inderlok to Indraprastha (12.40 KMs) of the Metro Phase-4.

Now the proposals would be put up before the Union Cabinet for final approval. Approval of the projects costing over Rs. 100 crores fall under the Public Investment Board. The Delhi Government had given its approval to all the six proposed corridors in December 2018. But the Centre had only approved three priority corridors in February 2019. While working on all three corridors -Janakpuri West to RK Ashram Marg (29 KMs), Aerocity to Tughlaqabad (20 KMs) and Maujpur to Majlis Park.


It is expected that the project was completed by 2023. Due to Covid-19, the project is likely to miss its target. In Phase-4 of Delhi Metro, three interchange stations will come up as part of the first corridor work – Madhuban Chowk (Red Line), Peeragarhi (Green Line) and Haiderpur Badli Mor (Yellow Line). Additionally, the corridor of Janakpuri West-RK Ashram Marg will have three more interchange facilities at Azadpur (Yellow Line), Majlis Park (Pink Line) and RK Ashram Marg (Blue line).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: