Agra Metro: Project Information, Routes, Fares and other Details

Sangeeta Singh Posted on: 2020-09-17 17:39:00 Viewer: 5,780 Comments: 0 Country: India City: Agra

Agra Metro: Project Information, Routes, Fares and other Details

In the bustling urban landscape of Agra, India, an ambitious transformation is underway with the development of an extensive metro rail network. With two metro rail lines spanning a combined length of 29.65 kilometers, this transformative project is poised to revolutionize the city's transportation landscape. Backed by a substantial project cost of Rs. 8379.62 cr., this metro rail endeavor is not only set to ease commuter congestion but also foster sustainable urban growth and connectivity for years to come. Construction on the first phase of Agra Metro was started on 7 December 2020 and commissioning of  5.2 km Priority  corridor is now operational since 6 March 2024. By the end of 2026, the Agra Metro will cover a total network of 29.65 kilometers.

Project Summary

  • Project Name: Agra Metro Rail Project
  • Owner: Govt. of India and Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
  • Operator: Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation (UPMRCL)
  • Project Type: Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS)
  • Project Cost: INR 8379.62 Crore 
  • Total Length: 29.4 km
  • Completion Target: 2026
  • Status: Operational

Routes & Network 

#1 Red Line: Sikandra - Taj East Gate (14.25 km) Op.-5.2 km, U/C 9.07 km

#2 Blue Line: Agra Cantt. - Kalindi Vihar (15.4 km) Approved


Line 1 (Red) : Mankameshwar – Taj East Gate

  • Length: 5.2 km 
  • Stations: 6 Stations
  • Stations Name:  Mankameshwar, Agra Fort, Taj Mahal, Fatehabad Road, Basai and Taj East Gate.

Under Construction

Line 1 (Red) : Sikandra – Taj East Gate

  • Length: 9.07 km 
  • Stations: 8 Stations
  • Stations Name: Sikandra, Guru Ka Taal, ISBT, Shastri Nagar, RBS College, Raja Ki Mandi, Agra University, Medical College.

Line 2 (Blue): Agra Cantt. – Kalindi Vihar

  • Length: 15.4 km 
  • Stations: 15 Stations
  • Stations Name: Agra Cantt., Sultanpura, Sadar Bazaar, Pratap Pura, Collectorate, Subhash Park, Agra University, Hariparvat Chauraha, Sanjay Place, MG Road, Sultanganj Crossing, Kamla Nagar, Rambagh, Foundary Nagar, Agra Mandi and Kalindi Vihar.

Train Maintanance Depot

Phase I - Line 1 (Red) - PAC (Operational)

Phase I - Line 2 (Blue) - Kalindi Vihar (Proposed)



Route Map

Click to view on Google Maps

Key Dates

  • 28 February 2019: The project was approved by Govt of India.(Phase I)
  • 8 March 2019: Foundation stone laid down by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
  • 7 December 2020: Construction work started of Agra Metro Phase I.
  • 6 March 2023: First Metro Train reached at PAC Metro Depot.
  • 6 March 2024: Mankameshwar – Taj East Gate (Line 1) 5.2 km.

Helpline No.

Tel: 0522-2288869/2304014 

Metro Authority

Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation Limited

Administrative Building, Vipin Khand,

Gomti Nagar, Lucknow-226010 (UP)




Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!