Delhi Metro Phase IV: Project Information, Cost, Contractors and System Details

Sangeeta Singh Posted on: 2020-09-17 17:39:00 Viewer: 101 Comments: 0 Country: India City: Delhi

Delhi Metro Phase IV: Project Information, Cost, Contractors and System Details

The Phase IV plan approved by the Delhi Government is expected to add another 103 kilometres. Construction work commenced on 30 December 2019, with an expected completion date of 2026.This makes the total length of the Delhi Metro at the end of Phase IV to exceed 450 kilometres,which does not include other independently operated systems in the National Capital Region such as the 29.7 kilometres long Aqua Line of the Noida-Greater Noida Metro and the 11.7 kilometres of the Rapid Metro Gurgaon that connect to the Delhi Metro..

Project Summary

  • Project Name: Delhi Metro Rail Project
  • Operator: Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited
  • Owner: Govt. of India and Govt. of NCT of Delhi
  • Project Type: Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS)
  • Project Cost: INR 70433 Crore (Phase-I, II & III), INR 46845 Crore (Phase-IV)
  • Funding Pattern: Govt. of India, Delhi Govt., Loan from Foreign Institutions
  • Operational Network: 347.65 km (252 stations, 10 Lines)
  • Status: Operational since 22 December 2002

Project Information

Line-10  Silver Line: Aerocity – Tughlakabad

  • Length: 23.622 km
  • Type: Elevated (4.279 km) & Underground (19.343 km)
  • Depot: Sarita Vihar (shared with Violet Line) & possibly Vasant Kunj
  • Number of Stations: 16
  • Station Names: Aerocity, Mahipalpur, Vasant Kunj, Kishangarh, Chhatarpur, Chhattarpur Mandir, IGNOU, Neb Sarai, Saket G-Block, Ambedkar Nagar, Khanpur, Sangam Vihar, Maa Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tughlakabad Railway Colony (Pul Prahaladpur) and Tughlakabad

Phase 4 Approved Extensions

Line-7 – Pink Line: Mukundpur – Maujpur

  • Length: 12.558 km
  • Type: Elevated (12.58 km)
  • Number of Stations: 8
  • Station Names: Burari Crossing, Jagatpur Village, Surghat, Khajuri Khas, Bhajanpura, Yamuna Vihar and Maujpur

Line-8  Magenta Line: Janakpuri West – R.K. Ashram (28.92 km)

  • Length: 28.92 km
  • Type: Elevated (21.18 km) & Underground (7.74 km)
  • Number of Stations: 22
  • Station Names: Krishna Park Extn, Keshopur, Paschim Vihar, Peeragarhi, Mangol Puri, West Enclave, Pushpanjali, Deepali Chowk, Madhuban Chowk, Prashant Vihar, North Pitampura, Haiderpur Badli Mor, Bhalaswa, Majlis Park, Azadpur & Ashok Vihar, Derawal Nagar, Rajpura, GG Sabji Mandi, Pulbangash, Sadar Bazar, Nabi Karim and RK Ashram Marg

Phase 4 Lines/Extensions Pending Approval

Line-1 – Red Line: Rithala – Narela

  • Length: 21.73 km
  • Type: Elevated
  • Number of Stations: 15
  • Station Names: Rohini Sector 26, Rohini Sector 31, Rohini Sector 32, Rohini Sector 36, Rohini Sector 37, Barwala, Put Khurd, Bawana Industrial Area – 1, Bawana Industrial Area – 2, Bawana, Bawana JJ Colony, Sanpath, New Sanath Colony, Anaj Mandi and Narela

Line-1  Red Line – Narela – Kundli

  • Length: 4.86 km
  • Type: Elevated
  • Number of Stations: 3
  • Station Names: Narela Sector 5, Kundli and Nathupur

Line-3 – Blue Line: Noida Sector-62 (Electronics City) – Sahibabad

  • Length: 5.11 km
  • Type: Elevated
  • Number of Stations: 5
  • Stations Names: Vaibhav Khand, Indirapuram, Shakti Khand, Vasundhra Sector 5, Sahibabad (interchange)
    Note: DPR was sent to Uttar Pradesh government for approval in January 2020.

Line-4 – Blue Line: Vaishali – Mohan Nagar

  • Length: 5.06 km
  • Type: Elevated
  • Number of Stations: 4
  • Stations Names: Prahlad Garhi, Vasundhara Sector 14, Sahibabad (interchange), Mohan Nagar (new station building will connect with Red Line’s Mohan Nagar Station)
  • Note: DPR was sent to Uttar Pradesh government for approval in January 2020.

Line-10  Silver Line: Lajpat Nagar – Saket G-Block

  • Length: 7.96 km
  • Type: Elevated & Underground
  • Number of Stations: 6
  • Stations: Saket-G Block, Pushp Vihar, Saket District Court, Sheikh Sarai, GK1, Andrews Ganj and Lajpat Nagar

Line-11: Inderlok – Indraprastha

  • Length: 12.58 km
  • Type: Underground
  • Number of Stations: 10
  • Station Names: Inderlok, Dayabasti, Sarai Rohilla, Ahmal Khan Park, Nabi Karim, New Delhi Railway Station, LNJP Hospital, Delhi Gate, IG Stadium and Indraprastha

Click here to see station names, fare and route maps.

 Project Cost & Funding:

Phase   Project Cost    Funding By
 Phase 4     ₹24,948.65 Crore   Govt. of India, Govt. of Delhi and JICA

System Information

  • Design Speed: 80 kmph
  • Average Speed: 40 kmph
  • Track Gauge: Standard Gauge – 1435 mm
  • Electrification: 25 KV 50 HZ AC
  • Signalling System: CBTC  
  • Rolling stock: 6 Coach Trains

Major Contractors 

Contractors   Work Description
Not yet finalize   DCS-1B Phase 4 Consultant (EOI)
Planet E-Com Solutions Pvt. Ltd.   Centralized Management System for Construction Workers engaged
Mapage Infrastructure Pvt. Ltd.   Detailed Topographical Survey for Line-8
Cengrs Geotechnica Pvt. Ltd.   Geotechnical Investigation – Tughlakabad – Terminal 1 & Lajpat Nagar to Saket
Consulting Engineers Group Ltd.   Geotechnical Investigation – Majlis Park to Maujpur and Inderlok to Indraprastha
CEG Test House and Research Centre Pvt. Ltd.   Geotechnical Investigation – Rithala to Narela and Janakpuri to Majlis Park
Techpro Engineers Pvt. Ltd.   Geotechnical Investigation – Kishangarh Station to Saket G Block via Chhatarpur

Progress So Far

30 Dec.2019: Delhi gov. approve 

In-depth Information

Overview | Delhi Metro Phase 1 | Delhi Metro Phase 2 | Delhi Metro Phase 3


Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!