Lucknow Metro: Project Information, Routes, Fares and other Details

Sangeeta Singh Posted on: 2022-01-25 12:36:00 Viewer: 522 Comments: 0 Country: India City: Lucknow

Lucknow Metro: Project Information, Routes, Fares and other Details

Lucknow is the capital city of the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh and Lucknow has always been a multicultural city that flourished as a North Indian cultural and artistic hub, and the seat of power of Nawabs in the 18th and 19th centuries.Having a population of 2.8 million as per 2011 census, it is the eleventh most populous city and the twelfth-most populous urban agglomeration of India.onstruction of the line begun on 27 September 2014 with the 8.5 km stretch from Transport Nagar to Charbagh Railway Station which began its commercial operation on 5 September 2017

Project Summary

  • Project Name: Lucknow Metro Rail Project
  • Operator: Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation Limited (UMRCL)
  • Owner: Govt. of India and Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
  • Project Type: Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS)
  • Project Cost: INR 12374.00 Crores (Phase-I)
  • Funding: Govt. of India, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh and European Investment Bank (EIB)
  • Completion Target: 2021 (Phase-I)
  • Status: Operational since Sept 5, 2017.

Project Details

Line            Routes   Length   Current Status  
1   CCS Airport - Munshi Pulia   22.9 km   Operational   
2   Charbagh Railway Station - Vasant Kunj   11.0 km    Proposed

Operational Routes

(Phase-I) North-South Corridor 1 (Red Line): CCS Airport - Munshi Pulia

  • Route Length: 22.87 km
  • Total Stations: 21 (Elevated - 17, Underground - 4)
  • Station Names: Chowdhary Charan Singh Airport, Amausi, Transport Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Singar Nagar, Alambagh, Alambagh ISBT, Mawaiya, Durgapuri, Charbagh Railway Station, Hussaingunj, Sachivalaya, Hazratgunj, KD Singh Babu Stadium, Lucknow Vishwavidyalaya, IT College, Badshah Nagar, Lekhraj Market, Bhootnath Market, Indra Nagar and Munshi Pulia.




For 1 Station


For 2 Station


From 3 to 6 Station


From 7 to 9 Station


From 10 to 13 Station


From 14 to 17 Station


For 18 Stations or Above 60.00

Contact details

Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation Limited

Administrative Building, Vipin Khand,

Gomti Nagar, Lucknow-226010 (UP)

Tel: 0522-2288869, 0522-2304014


Route Map


Project Information

Under Construction Lines Phase-I

East-West Corridor 2 (Blue Line): Lucknow Railway Station - Vasant Kunj

  • Route Length: 11.098 km
  • Total Stations: 12 Stations (Elevated - 6, Underground - 6)
  • Stations Name: Charbagh Railway Station, Gautam Buddha Marg, Aminabad, Pandeyganj, City Railway Station, Medical College Cahuraha, Nawazganj, Thakurganj, Balaganj, Sarfarazganj, Musabagh and Vasant Kunj.


  • Line 3: IIM Lucknow to Rajajipuram
  • Line 4: Indira Nagar to CG City
  • Line 5: CG City to CCS International Airport


  • Line 6: Munshipulia to Jankipuram
  • Line 7: Charbagh to SGPGI
  • Line 8: Sachivalaya to CG City

Project Cost & Funding:

Phase   Project Cost    Funding By
Phase 1   47523.8 Crore   Govt. of India and Govt. of Uttar Pradesh

 Deadline: NA

Technical Information

  • Design Speed:90 kmph
  • Average speed: 32–34 kmph
  • Track Gauge1,435 mm Standard gauge
  • Electrification: 25 kV Overhead
  • Signalling System: Communications-based Train Control (CBTC)
  • Rolling stock: NA

Major Contracts (Phase-I)

Package   Contractors   Work Description
LKGC-01   Ayesa-KRNA-Aarvee-Geodata   General Consultancy Services
LKDD-01   Systra Consulting   Detailed Design Consultant
LKRS-01   Alstom India   80 Coaches (Rolling Stock) & Signalling System
LKS-01   Datamatics & Mikroelektronika   Automatic Fare Collection System
LKS-02, LKCC-01 & LKCC-07   Larsen & Toubro   Telecommunications, Transport Nagar – Charbagh
(Elevated: 8.48 km +
1 km extn to Amausi & KD Singh Babu – Munshipulia
(Elevated – 8.63 km)
LKT-05   Kalindee   Ballastless Tracks
LKCC-02   SP Singla   Mawaiya Bridge over IR lines
LKCC-03 & LKCC-05   Sam India Builtwell   Transport Nagar Depot & Amausi – CCS Airport
(Elevated & Underground – 2 km)
LKCC-06   Tata – Gülermak   Charbagh – KD Singh Babu
(Underground – 3.44 km)

Progress So Far

  • 27 Sep.2014: Construction work was started.
  • 5 September 2017: 8.5 km section between Transport Nagar – Charbagh on Red Line opened.
  • 8 March 2019: 2.67 km section between Transport Nagar – Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport on Red Line opened.
  • 8 March 2019: 12.6 km section between Charbagh – Munshipulia on Red Line opened.

Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!