CMRS issues safety clearance for partial opening of Mumbai Metro Line 2A & 7

MRT Online Desk Posted on: 2022-03-27 08:15:00 Viewer: 848 Comments: 0 Country: India City: Mumbai

CMRS issues safety clearance for partial opening of Mumbai Metro Line 2A & 7

Mumbai, India (Metro Rail Today): The Commissioner of Metro Railway Safety (CMRS) finally issued the conditional safety clearance certificate to Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) for launching of comemrcial services on 20-km stretch of Mumbai Metro's Line 2A & 7. The second new line of Mumbai Metro Rail Network is now all set to commence public services after 8 years of waiting of Mumbaikars.

“The approval has been received and I would like to congratulate everyone involved in this project for this crucial development,” confirmd SVR Srinivas, Metropolitan Commissioner, MMRDA. In his safety clearance certificate, CMRS has given approval to commence commercial operation of metro train on 20-km stretch of Line 2A & 7 with a speed restriction of 70kmph. 

“We plan to commence commercial runs in the first week of April,” said a senior Official from MMRDA.

CMRS had commenced his one-week statutary inspection of the route, signalling, stations and other systems on February 19, 2022 for both lines. 

BEML-made Metro Train Trial run on 20-km stretch of Metro 2A (Dahisar West-DN Nagar - Andheri West) and 7 (Dahisar East-Andheri East interconnecting with Line 1) were flagged off by Maharashtra chief minister Uddhav Thackeray on May 31, 2021. Meanwhile, BEML has supplied all the 10 Metro rakes to MMRDA for starting operation on the lines.

The first phase spanning 20km is between Dahanukarwadi of Line 2A and Aarey of Line 7 will have a total of 18 stations. MMRDA is planning to open this stretch in the first week of April. However, launching date not yet disclosed. The following stations of both lines will be made operational, once the lines opned for the public:-

Metro Line 2A: Dahisar East, Upper Dahisar, Kandarpada, Mandapeshwar, Eksar, Borivali (West), Pahadi Eksar, Kandivali (West) and Dahanukarwadi.

Metro Line 7: Aarey, Pathan Wadi, Pushpa Park, Bandongri, Mahindra & Mahindra, Magathane, Devipada, National Park, Ovaripada and Dahisar (East). 

Metro Fare

  • Rs 10/- for 0-3 km
  • Rs 20/- for 3-12 km
  • Rs 30/- for 12-18 km
  • Rs 40/- for 18-24 km
  • Rs 50/- for 24-30 km

For more details, please explore the Mumbai Metro page of Metro Rail Today.


Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!