Kolkata Metro: Project Information, Routes, Fares and other Details

Sangeeta Singh Posted on: 2022-01-25 12:36:00 Viewer: 3,754 Comments: 0 Country: India City: Kolkata

Kolkata Metro: Project Information, Routes, Fares and other Details

In the bustling urban landscape of Kolkata, India, an ambitious transformation is underway with the development of an extensive metro rail network. With six metro rail lines spanning a combined length of 149.27 kilometers, this transformative project is poised to revolutionize the city's transportation landscape. Backed by a substantial project cost of Rs. 50,001 cr. INR, this metro rail endeavor is not only set to ease commuter congestion but also foster sustainable urban growth and connectivity for years to come. The metro train operation in the first Phase of the Kolkata Metro project was started on 24 October 1984 and the system is now covering a total of 46.96 km with 3 lines. By the end of 2028, the Kolkata Metro will cover a total network of 149.27 kilometers.

Project Summary

  • Project Name: Kolkata Metro Rail Project
  • Owner: Ministry of Railways, Govt. of India
  • Operator: Indian Railways/Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation
  • Executing Body: Rail Vikas Nigam Limited (RVNL)
  • Project Type: Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS)
  • Project Cost: Rs 50,001.05 crores
  • Total Network: 149.27 km (6 Lines)
  • Status: Operational since 24 October 1984

Routes & Network

Line            Routes   Length   Current Status  
#1 Blue Line   Dakshineswar - Kavi Subhas Nagar   31.36 km   Operational  
#2 Green Line   Howrah Maidan - Phoolbagan   16.6 km   Operational (9.1 km), U/C (7.5 km)  
#3 Purple Line   Joka - Taratala   16.62 km   Operational (6.5 km), U/C (10.12 km)   
#4 Yellow Line   Noapara - Barasat   16.88 km   Under Construction  
#5 Pink Line    Baranagar - Barrackpore   12.40 km   Under Construction  
#6 Orange Line   Kavi Subhash - Bima Bandar   29.87 km   Under Construction  

Operational Routes

Line 1 (Blue Line | North-South Corridor) : Dakshineswar – Kavi Subhas Nagar

  • Route length: 31.36 km (Operational)
  • Total Stations: 26 (At grade-2, Elevated-9, Underground 15)
  • Project Cost: Rs 415.87 crores
  • Stations: Kavi Subhash, Shahid Khudiram, Kavi Nazrul, Gitanjali, Masterda Surya Sen, Netaji, Mahanayak Uttam Kumar, Rabindra Sarobar, Kalighat, Jatin Das Park, Netaji Bhavan, Rabindra Sadan, Maidan, Park Street, Esplanade, Chandni Chowk, Central, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Girish Park, Shobhabazar Sutanuti, Shyambazar, Belgachhia, Dum Dum, Noapara, Baranagar and Dakshineswar.

Line 2 (Green Line | East-West Corridor): Sector V –  Sealdah

  • Route length: 16.34 km (Operational-9.1 km, Under construction-7 km)
  • Total Stations: 12 (Elevated-6, Underground-6)
  • Proejct Cost: Rs 8,575 crores
  • Operational Stations: Sector V, Karunamoyee, Central Park, City Centre, Bengal Chemical, Salt Lake Stadium, Phoolbagan and Sealdah,
  • Depot: Salt Lake

Line 3 (Purple Line): Joka –  Taratala

  • Route length: 16.72 km (Operational-6.5 km, Under construction- 10.22 km)
  • Total Stations: 6 (Elevated)
  • Proejct Cost: Rs 2,477.25 crores
  • Operational Stations: Joka, Thakurpukur, Sakherbazar, Behala Chowrasta, Behala Bazar, and Taratala

Future Expansion

Line 2 (Green Line | East-West Corridor): Howrah Maidan - Phoolbagan

  • Route length: 9.1 km (Underground)
  • Total Stations: 5
  • Stations:  Sealdah, Esplanade, Mahakaran, Howrah and Howrah Maidan.

Line 3:  (Purple Line) Diamond Park - Esplanade

  • Route Lenth: 16.72 km
  • Total Stations: 14 (Elevated 9, Underground-5)
  • Project Cost: Rs 2,619 crores
  • Stations: Diamond Park, IIM, Majerhat, Mominpur, Kidderpore, Victoria, Park Street and Esplanade.

Line 4: (Yellow Line) Noapara - Barasat

  • Route Lenth: 16.215 km (Under construction)
  • Total Stations: 10 (Elevated 5, Underground-5)
  • Project Cost: Rs 4,829.57 km
  • Stations: Noapara, Dum Dum Cantonment, Jessore Road, Biman Bandar, Birati, Michael Nagar, New Barrackpore, Madhyamgram, Hridaypur and Barasat.


Line 5:(Pink Line) Baranagar - Barrackpore

  • Route Lenth: 12.40 km
  • Total Stations: 11 (All Elevated)
  • Project Cost: Rs 2,069.6 crores
  • Stations: Baranagar, Kamarhati, Agarpara, Sodepur, Panihati, Subhash Nagar, Khardah, Tata Gate, Titagarh, Talpukur and Barrackpore.

Line 6 (Orange Line | Airport Metro): Kavi Subhas - Biman Bandar

  • Route Lenth: 29.87 km
  • Total Stations: 24 
  • Project Cost: Rs 29,014.76 crores
  • Stations: Kavi Subhash, Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute, Mukundapur, Kalikapur, Ruby Hospital, VIP Bazar, Bantala, Science City, Beliaghata, Chingrighata, Nicco Park, Salt Lake Sector V, Technopolis, Bidhan Nagar, Sub CBD, CBD-1, CBD-2, New Town, Convention Center, Sub CBD-2, City Centre, Rabindra Tirtha, VIP Road, Bima Bandar (Airport).

Train Maintanance Depot

Phase    Line   Location
Phase I   Line 1 (Blue)   Noapara and New Garia (Operational)
Phase II   Line 2 (Green)   Central Park in Bidhannagar (Operational)
Phase II   Line 3 (Green)   Joka (Operational)


(North – South corridor)



Up  to  2 KM


2 KM to 5 KM


5 KM to 10 KM


10 KM to 20 KM


Above 20 KM


(East – West corridor)



0-2 KM


2-5 KM


5-10 KM


10-16.5 KM


Route Map

Click to view on Google Maps

Key Dates

  • 29 December 1972: Foundation stone laid down by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.
  • 1973-74: Construction work started of Kolkata Metro Phase I.
  • 24 October 1984: 3.40 km section (Esplanade – Netaji Bhawan)  of Corridore 1 Open for public.


Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation Ltd.

HRBC Complex,KMRCL Bhawan

2nd & 3rd Floor,Munsi Premchand Sarani

Kolkata - 700021

Tel: NA

Email: NA

Website: www.kmrc.in


Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!