Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurates Dhaka Metro Line 6

MRT Online Desk Posted on: 2023-11-07 06:10:00 Viewer: 547 Comments: 0 Country: Bangladesh City: Dhaka

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurates Dhaka Metro Line 6

Dhaka, Bangladesh (Metro Rail Today): Exciting news has emerged for the people of Bangladesh as the eagerly anticipated second phase of Dhaka Metro Rail's Line 6 was officially inaugurated by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on November 4, 2023. In addition to this, the construction work for Line 5 was also inaugurated during the event. This new stretch covers the Agargaon to Motijheel section of the metro, marking a significant milestone in the country's transportation infrastructure development. The project is under the operation and maintenance of the Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL), with the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) serving as the consultant for the ambitious Dhaka Metro project.

The upcoming 20-km-long Line 5 of the Dhaka Metro (Northern route) is expected to extend from Hemayetpur to Bhatara via Gabtoli, Mirpur-10, and Gulshan, promising to further enhance the city's transportation network. Scheduled for completion by 2028, the construction of this line comes with an estimated cost of Taka 41,239 crore, demonstrating the significant investment and commitment to the region's infrastructure development.

Spanning across an 8.72-km stretch, the Agargaon to Motijheel section of the Dhaka Metro is set to incorporate six stations along its route, namely Bijoy Sarani, Farmgate, Karwan Bazar, Shahbag, Dhaka University, and Bangladesh Secretariat metro stations. Although the Uttara-Motijheel Metro corridor includes the entire route, the current operational stations are limited to Farmgate, Secretariat, and Motijheel stations, catering to the immediate transportation needs of the region.

Effective from November 5, the DMTCL has scheduled commercial operations on the recently launched Agargaon to Motijheel section, ensuring daily operations of the metros from 07:30 hrs to 11:30 hrs on the entire corridor. Notably, train movement between Motijheel and Agargaon stations will cease after 11:30 hrs. However, the services will continue to operate between Uttara and Agargaon stations until 20:30 hrs, providing extended transportation options for commuters within the designated timeframe.

Dhaka's Phase 1 metro project marked a significant milestone with the launch of its first metro service on December 28, 2022. The 20-km-long Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) Line-6, funded by the Japanese International Cooperation Agency (JICA), established the first-ever Metro Rail system in Bangladesh, linking Uttara to Motijheel in Dhaka and passing through key areas such as Pallabi and Mirpur, thus significantly enhancing the city's transportation infrastructure and connectivity.


Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!